//
you're reading...
Beer, Brewing, Uncategorized

I am in Summer Love with this Ale

     I’m not going to lie to you people. After all, you take time out of your days to read these words of mine. Therefore they should be full of truth…or at least laced with it. I’m lying in bed right now. About five minutes ago I had an “oh shit” moment that I have not had since my finals in April. I am in a state of procrastination because usually I write these things two days in advance. Never fear, my best work has always been done under pressure, this is every procrastinator’s lie that they tell themselves at 4 am when their eyes are red and craggy. I am late on this because I’ve actually had things to do this week, all of which reinforced my belief that a nice cold beer can restore your faith in humanity. One of the horrifying things I did was babysitting…these kids are so cute it’s painful, literally painful because they know it full well. When I got home I was so happy to crack open a plain old domestic bud light and sit by the pool in silence. I started thinking about the future and I wondered if it would hold children for me…I was brought out of that nightmare and into another one (home ownership) when I heard my Dad yelling at the TV people inside.

     Ah life! Anyway, the fact that I am not a homeowner, married, or with child makes me really appreciates the simplicity of my life at the moment. In fact, it inspired me to go on a quest for the perfect summer beer! Have I found it? I know you are dying to know. Tonight I decided to explore an ale put out by Victory Brewing Company, and make it the first of what will be many seasonal summer beers on my quest for thirst quenching, mind enlightening greatness.

     As far as logistical material goes on this beer, the findings were pretty light. This is mostly because this is a blonde style ale and they tend to be very straight forward and typical. The ale is made with German and American noble hops and two German pilsner malts (there wasn’t a lot on the kind). A pilsner usually has a spicy punch to it with a lot of floral notes and a tinge of bitterness; this is the trademark of noble hops. Noble hops have been long-established in European style beers and pilsners, they are less bitter than other hops which is not necessarily a bad thing, especially if you are looking for something light and potent (the average session beer is 4% ABV) on a hot summer day. After researching this beer I am a little concerned that it will be very similar to the one that I reviewed last week, but I have learned never to judge a beer by its label. The prediction from the brewery is that is to be well received by both casual beer drinkers and “brewsperts” a like because of this mild drinkability with notes of hops. We shall see…

     THIS BEER (I’m yelling), IS JUST…pleasant. It has a lovely floral smell to it, but not an overly flowery taste. The pour took absolutely no skill, I just dumped it in and the head was gone almost immediately. The color is like golden straw. I generally like a heavily carbonated beer, this one is more modest with the bubbles. There is a surprising light bitterness that remains on the tongue after you drink it. I also feel slightly more encouraged that the beer’s ABV is 5.2% what a nice change after the usual wateriness of summer ales. All in all I would give this beer a 3 on the 5 pint scale. It is quite good and I would like to have it again.

To Pour: Go for it. Just drop it on in a glass.

ABV: 5.2%

 Available: May – August

 

About Insight by the Pint

I am a 23 year old with no filter (original, right?). I love drinking beer and observing and analyzing life. I don't know everything but what I do know I will share.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “I am in Summer Love with this Ale

  1. OMG, you have a blog!!!! This is beyond perfect…. what are your feelings on watermelon beer? I came across it in SF and the “melon-y” base was just NOT doing it for me.

    Posted by Tiffany Woolley | August 1, 2012, 3:23 pm

Leave a Reply

