//
you're reading...
Beer, Brewing, Uncategorized

Shout Out to the Milk Stout

It’s 5:45 pm, I left the house early…but not too early. I am dressed for success but not overly so, if you haven’t guessed it yet I am going to a job interview. The location is Fat Cats, it’s a local beer bar…a gem in my opinion considering that Fort Lauderdale is behind the curve as far as craft beer goes. I’m more excited than nervous but that still doesn’t help me master the confusing parking that downtown offers. The sign in front of my face clearly says “No parking between 4-6pm” …but I’m here at 5:45 like a good interviewee should be! What do you mean I can’t pay the meter until 6!? So, naturally I do what any responsible, knowledgeable townie would…I park illegally in a gravel lot close by. Not my finest moment but I am dealing with pre interview expectations here! Finally I reserve that I will be illegally parking and cross my fingers that I don’t get towed. Once I’m inside Fat Cats I feel a lot better because how could I not? It’s a place that has some unique beers on tap and you’ll be hard pressed to find bud or miller product. A band is setting up and if there is something Fat Cats offers other than good beer it’s good music, although I’m concerned this could pose a problem later on when I’m trying to talk to my interviewer. When I shake hands with my interviewer and a possible future colleague I am also asked by the bartender what beer I would like. I know that this distributor (Cavalier originally out of Ohio) carries Left Hand…I like left hand and blindly order whichever style they have on tap not knowing the ABV. Immediately I can tell it’s a stout, I’m ok with that but on this hot Florida evening it concerns me a little…it also takes a good 10 minutes to pour. Finally I have my milk stout and am sitting across from my possible future boss. We start to chat but in the back of my mind I am so pleased with my random choice of beer and it makes me want the job even more. It is just another small way that I am reminded how fun and engaging picking a craft beer at random can be and it fills me with pride that I have found this as a passion in life. I can’t wait to get home and research this milk stout from Left Hand and find out what makes it so delicious.

As I mentioned the hue is very dark and is not translucent in the least. There is good carbonation but it’s not overwhelming. As I have the beer longer as it warms to just below room temperature I get the feeling that this is how it is supposed to be served. The frothy head lasts until the beer is gone even leaving residue from its pure white head to cascade down the glass. The taste is so subtle and delicious, I can’t remember the last time I had a milk stout so it’s like experiencing it for the first time. It’s a sweet stout so the aroma obviously lends to that I smell caramel and what I can only describe as sweet cream…like the kind you use to make homemade whip cream. Upon tasting it I feel slightly assaulted by the sweetness but after a few sips it really grows on me. It does leaving me feeling thirsty, but in a state that skips Fall weather and just goes to a less violent summer feel that’s to be expected while drinking sweet milk stout. The after taste is less sweet and I even picked up a little bitterness on the back of my tongue, but not much. Left Hand Brewing Co. has a great website as far as information goes and they take the beer geeks curiosity into consideration by listing the malts and hops making my job a little easier for once, thanks guys! As usual you’ll find a complete list of the hops and malts properties below. This particular joint serves the beer in a plastic cup which is its one downfall but in South Florida that is pretty typical considering the amount of people this place serves on your average night. Also, in this area you are allowed to walk from bar to bar with your drinks…imagine how many walk off glasses there would be.

A lot of this beers flavor comes from the malts that are used to create the sweet creamy flavor that is so inviting. This beer is a milk stout meaning there is lactose added to a traditional stout which can be creamy, bitter or coffee like, and was first brewed in Ireland and Brittain. A fun fact about Left Hand Brewing Co. is that they are one of the many breweries trying their hand at growing their own hops. They aren’t completely dependant on their own of course but their Warrior IPA is made with 100% Colorado Hops. This is one of my favorite breweries and this beer only improved my opinion of them. I was caught up in my interview and did not get a picture of the beer but here is a video I found of the beer being poured; http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hW75b4m9faY this is actually a comparison of the nitro (meaning it gives a cask ale, creamy mouth feel to it. Carbonates the beer with nitrous oxide instead of just carbon dioxide) this idea was originally done by Guinness. Remember, I had the original, not the nitro. I truly enjoyed this beer and look forward to having it again…hopefully when it’s a little cooler outside. I would easily give this beer a 4 out of 5 pints.

To Pour: Tilt the glass and give it your best shot…the brewers say to just dump it in the glass and watch it go. If you are at a bar be prepared for it to take a few minutes to be poured.

ABV: 6.00%

IBU: 25

Malts:
Pale 2-row: this is a base malt meaning that it makes up most of the malt in the beer. They are typically lighter colored and provide most of the proteins, fermentable sugars, and minerals required to create beers.
Crystal: different from other types of malts and can give a sweet somewhat caramelized flavor to the beer. They add to the body and head retention of beer.
Munich: increases body, aroma, and malt sweetness
Roast Barley: dark malts associated with porters, STOUTS, and some red beers. Deep brown to black in color.
Flaked Oats: Adds to the silky texture found in this stout
Flaked Barley: Added to stouts for better head retention and smoothness.
Chocolate: Chocolaty brown, used in stouts for bitter chocolate taste.

Hops:
Magnum: Main usage is bittering. Acutely spiced aroma recalls black pepper and nutmeg; touch of citrus as well.
US Goldings: Traditionally English hop’s flavor is smooth and somewhat sweet. Usage is; flavor, aroma, and bittering

Sources:
http://www.brew-monkey.com/brewschool/maltguide.php
– Brewed Awakening, Joshua M. Bernstein
http://www.lefthandbrewing.com/beers/milk-stout

Milk Stout is brewed by Left Hand Brewing Co. in Longmont, Colorado

About Insight by the Pint

I am a 23 year old with no filter (original, right?). I love drinking beer and observing and analyzing life. I don't know everything but what I do know I will share.

Discussion

2 thoughts on “Shout Out to the Milk Stout

  1. I truly have a tendency to go along with everything that has been written throughout “Shout Out to the Milk Stout
    Insight by the Pint”. Many thanks for all the info.Thanks,
    Lorrie

    Posted by http://yahoo.com | February 11, 2013, 2:52 pm

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pingback: Left Hand Milk Stout | More Beer For Me - March 12, 2013

Leave a Reply

