//
you're reading...
Beer, Brewing

Happy Halloween from Insight by the Pint!

I’m coming to you a little later than usual (one day to be exact). I’m not going to lie. I was busy carving pumpkins, hand crafting a ghost that comes down from the power line, and listen to the Halloween station on Pandora…tis the season, right? I hope that you all had an enjoyable Halloween and that you’ve also been enjoying the seasonal beers that Fall has to offer. For today’s beer, I went back to a brewery I truly enjoy and have written about before, Smuttynose Pumpkin Ale. I’m looking forward to this one for a couple of reasons, first off because I won’t be sweating when I try it; Florida has cooled down to a fantastic 70 degrees this week who wants to drink sweaty pumpkin ale? Not me! Also, like I said I really enjoy what Smuttynose puts out. Halloween to me is a great holiday because its fun, even when you “grow up” you can still play dress up for at least one day without worry about what on-lookers thinking you are a serial killer. They might do a double take and then remind themselves, “Hey it’s Halloween.”  I felt very festive carving my pumpkin and drinking this Pumpkin Ale, while you can get away with it during Thanksgiving what better day is there than October 31st to drink a pumpkin beer?

 

The beer itself is pumpkin colored…I’m not just saying this to be festive I really couldn’t think of what else to call the color. The initial taste is very refreshing…in fact, it is one of the more refreshing pumpkin beers I’ve had. It’s not exactly cloudy but there is a lack of transparence probably due to the existence of orange in its hue. I can’t find a very distinct smell in the aroma, only to say it smells like beer with a pinch of cinnamon in it. If you aren’t crazy about pumpkin beers, which if I am perfectly honest…I am not (sins). This is a great beer, you get a semi pumpkin essence in the initial flavor but you don’t feel like your face is resting inside of a rotting pumpkin. There is a really great carbonation to this beer which I truly enjoy in my beers. After the initial zing of carbonation and subtle hint of pumpkin there is a slight after taste of cinnamon. The carbonation actually leaves a sensation on your tongue, I thought it was cool. Slight lacing but the cream head dissipates rather quickly.  Most pumpkin beers take it easy on the hops and this one is no exception. Some of the other ingredients in the beer besides hops and malts (obviously) are; natural pumpkin puree, cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves.

 

All in all I would give this beer a 4 out of 5 pints just in general as a beer. However, if I am comparing it against other pumpkin beers I will have to drop it down to 2 out of 5. I would definitely drink this beer again during any season but for hardnosed pumpkin beer drinkers I wouldn’t say this will get your craving under control for you.

 

 

To Pour: Ales are traditionally served in either a mug or a pint glass. Give the glass a generous tip and pour the beer at a moderate speed, there will be minimal head.

 

ABV: 5.84%

 

IBU: 35

 

Hops:

  • Cascade: Usually popular in American Pale Ales and IPAs. It’s floral hops smells strongly of citrus and grapefruit
  • Liberty: Mild aroma of herbs and earth.

 

Sources:

–          http://smuttynose.com/beers/seasonal_beers/smuttynose_pumpkin_ale.html

–          Brewed Awakening by Joshua M. Bernstein

 

Pumpkin Ale is brewed by Smuttynose Brewing Co. in Portsmouth, New Hampshire

 

 

 

 

About Insight by the Pint

I am a 23 year old with no filter (original, right?). I love drinking beer and observing and analyzing life. I don't know everything but what I do know I will share.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

