//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Well this is awkward…

So that distributing job that I was so keen on about (holy cow) 6 months ago. Yea, I don’t do that anymore…cue awkward silence, maybe throw some crickets in there.

I have been neglecting this blog because after I quit my job I threw myself into fitness and thus had to stay away from beer for a while. My instinct in writing is to assault you with massive amounts of detail. However, I am going to pace myself because a lot has happened in the past six months. I am hoping that you guys will stick this out with me, there will still be beer posts but my blog will probably now lean more towards the insight side rather than the beer side.

I will tell you this upfront, I think that I got lost in the Utopian idea that your passion or hobby should be your career, when in reality sometimes making it your job can ruin it for you. I still love the beer community the people who make it up are accepting and loving. Frankly they are one of a kind. You will find people who treat it strictly as a business, but the majority of people I dealt with just wanted to promote their love of craft beer for the greater good of drinkers! I learned a lot from my time as a sales rep. the biggest lesson being that the phrase: “It takes a special person to be in sales.” is absolutely factual.

You may be thinking, why the fitness? Well kind reader I will tell you. I was always an athlete, but when I could no longer play basketball due to a back injury I put on 40 lbs in four years. I would like to thank Taco Bell, not exercising, and you guessed it BEER. I would also like to give a shout out to my friends who blindly and lovingly kept saying “You’re not fat!” ladies, I love you…but you all were liars with a capitol L!

Where was I? …Oh right, why I left my job as a sales rep. I did it to pursue a job people have always said I would be perfect for, I have been training to be a cop. ..you all have 30 seconds to make your donut jokes…and we’re done. So, after about 4 months, I am 20 lbs down and 10 push ups away from my goal of 25. I don’t know if all of my hard work will pay off because apparently in the real world you don’t always get what you worked hard for.

My insightful take away message for you today is this: pursue your dreams, but realize that they may not be something you want to taint with business. I still love beer, I still love what it promotes but my hobby was not meant to be my career. Sometimes the best thing you can do is make a good living that will allow you to afford your passion.

At first I thought I failed by quitting my first job out of college. Now, I am glad that I did. I forgot what it was like to be motivated and I have to say, I’ve missed it.

Thanks for reading and I will see you all soon, go forth and drink beer!

About Insight by the Pint

I am a 23 year old with no filter (original, right?). I love drinking beer and observing and analyzing life. I don't know everything but what I do know I will share.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

