//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Moving, what a pain in the arse.

Hello all!

I am getting ready to embark on a new life adventure. My highly anticipated move BACK to Indiana is now one week away. I’ve “moved” back and forth from Florida to Indiana for four years because of college. I thought I knew what I was getting myself into…I was wrong! Moving across the country for more than a temporary 10 month college stay is a different ball game from moving there for good (maybe, probably not, who knows?).

Being the researcher I am, I spent far too much time looking for the right way to move. Anyone who has moved recently knows the internal debate: what is the cheapest way for me to do this without losing my mind and not looking like an idiot in the process? Let me save you some time, there is no cheap way. You can leave everything behind and buy new stuff or take the things you have and pay movers to do it all. Then you need a UHual and forget to factor in the ridiculous amount of gas it will take to get there with a trailer in tow.  Better yet, my Dad’s suggestion puts into perspective, “Just don’t go, that’s the cheapest solution yet!” John can be such a clever man…

This process has shown me a lot about myself. Firstly, I have learned that there is such a thing as too much research. Sometimes the difference between the right choice and the wrong one is simply choosing the one that you feel comfortable with. It really made me think of other areas in my life where I have lost sleep over decisions with friends and relationships. I have found that I have the most trouble when I know what the right choice would be, but the wrong one is just so tempting. I know from being a listener for many of my friends that they have struggled with this too.

Why do we sweat the decision making process when we know the right choice?

I will leave you with that Carrie Bradshaw question and hope that next time you are faced with a decision you simply ask yourself, “What is the simplest solution?” Trust yourself and remember that no one knows you better than yourself.

Next time you hear from me I will be an Indiana resident, Happy Trails!

 

About Insight by the Pint

I am a 23 year old with no filter (original, right?). I love drinking beer and observing and analyzing life. I don't know everything but what I do know I will share.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

